"This is a crackling first novel—action and romance go hand in hand, and you just might learn something while reading it, too. And it's about time Indianapolis got its own private eye."  

— Les Roberts, award-winning author of the Milan Jacovich and Saxon series of mystery novels
BARNES AND NOBLEAMAZONDOWNLOAD FREE SAMPLE

Ross Carley’s smart, sexy breakout novel Dead Drive echoes the cadence and pulse of a great detective mystery, akin to classics by Loren Estleman and Les Roberts. The protagonist Wolf Ruger is a single Iraqi vet who works independently as a technology consultant and private investigator. He is doggedly determined on his quest for the truth.

Set in Indianapolis, this well-crafted mystery showcases Wolf investigating foul play in the high- technology industry. Hired by Stellar Electronics CEO Andy Marshall as a PI working undercover as a technology consultant, Wolf investigates disk drive production issues that potentially threaten the business.  Why are so many drives malfunctioning? Wolf rolls up his sleeves and begins gathering preliminary company information, when his high-tech investigation melds with murder. Now he must solve two cases while being distracted by beautiful women.

He relies on a network of loyal friends to crack the cases. Among them are IMPD’s homicide detective Sergeant Tito Rodriguez, a comrade from his days in the Gulf; Daniel Li, a technically-savvy graduate student; and good old Max Blitzer, the retired PI and mentor from whom Wolf learned the trade.

Vivid character descriptions and well-crafted dialogue make these and many more characters come to life. Readers will cheer for Wolf as he deals with unsavory criminals and more than once puts himself in harm’s way to protect his clients and solve the crimes. Wolf has to repeatedly deal with the fact that everything isn't as it seems.

Steamy sex scenes and witty musings are sprinkled throughout the gripping plot. This book is a must-read for fans of Estleman’s Amos Walker and Roberts’ Milan Jacovich, who will cheer for Wolf at every turn and look forward to meeting up with him again.

"Wolf Ruger of Dead Drive is back! Once again Carley weaves a tight tale of murder, money and sex while giving readers an up-close, behind-the-scenes look into the rarified world of Formula racing. Speed counts in this taut investigation."

 — Michele Drier, award-winning author of The Kandesky Vampire Chronicles and The Amy Hobbes Mysteries
AMAZONBARNES AND NOBLEDOWNLOAD FREE SAMPLE

Another quest for the truth.

Private Investigator Wolf Ruger, returning Iraq veteran with PTSD, navigates the fast-paced world of Formula racing. Indianapolis-based HH Racing has a high-stakes technical problem the week before the last big race of the season. The race car’s telemetry malfunctions, baffling the racing team’s experts.

Wolf’s experience and instincts kick into high gear to determine if the telemetry failure and a mysterious fatality are related. Simultaneously, murders strike a mob operation involving espionage and the FBI. Wolf’s best friend Tito Rodriguez provides PTSD support, and his retired mentor Max advises him through the twists and turns of the case.

Wolf must untangle the turmoil before he becomes a victim. While juggling passionate relationships in his personal life, he remains undeterred in pursuit of answers.

ABOUT THE AUTHOR

Ross Carley has served as a military intelligence officer, an engineering professor, and the CTO of a defense contractor that produces computer software.
 
He is currently a consultant. Having written several technical books, Ross decided to focus his writing talents on fiction.  He lives with the love of his life in Indianapolis.

Ross is also a member of the
Speed City Chapter of Sisters in Crime.

UPCOMING BOOK SIGNINGS

Friday, September 1, 2017
10:00 AM - 2:00 PM

Saturday, September 2, 2017
10:00 AM - 2:00 PM

Porter Books and Bread
5719 Lawton Loop East Drive
Indianapolis, IN 46216
www.porterbread.com/

Thursday, October 12, 2017
12:30 - 1:00 PM
3:30 - 4:00 PM

Osgood Room, Sheraton Centre Hotel
123 Queen St. W.
Toronto, ON, Canada

Formula Murder Book Launch Party and Signing
Free goodies!

Saturday, April 29, 2017
10:00 AM - 2:00 PM

Porter Books and Bread
5719 Lawton Loop East Drive
Indianapolis, IN 46216
www.porterbread.com/

Sunday, May 7, 2017
12:00 PM - 4:00 PM

Half Price Books
4709 East 82nd Street
Indianapolis, IN 46250

Formula Murder Book Launch Party and Signing
Free goodies!

Saturday, April 29, 2017
10:00 AM - 2:00 PM

Porter Books and Bread
5719 Lawton Loop East Drive
Indianapolis, IN 46216
www.porterbread.com/

Sunday, May 7, 2017
12:00 PM - 4:00 PM

Half Price Books
4709 East 82nd Street
Indianapolis, IN 46250

Saturday, May 13, 2017
10:00 AM - 3:00 PM

Tipton Authorama
Tipton Country Library
127 East Madison Street
Tiption, IN

Wednesday, April 26, 2017
11:00 AM - 1:00 PM

Barnes and Noble @ IUPUI Campus Center
420 University Blvd #155
Indianapolis, IN 46202

Saturday, May 13, 2017
10:00 AM - 3:00 PM

Tipton Authorama
Tipton Country Library
127 East Madison Street
Tiption, IN

Wednesday, April 26, 2017
11:00 AM - 1:00 PM

Barnes and Noble @ IUPUI Campus Center
420 University Blvd #155
Indianapolis, IN 46202

CONTACT ME:

Thank you! Your submission has been received!
Oops! Something went wrong while submitting the form
Copyright (©) Ross Carley Books, 2017.